Canadian securities regulators highlight common deficiencies in issuers’ continuous disclosure

July 19, 2018

Toronto - The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) today published Staff Notice 51-355 Continuous Disclosure Review Program Activities for the fiscal years ended March 31, 2018 and March 31, 2017, a biennial report that summarizes CSA staff's ongoing review of reporting issuers' (issuers) continuous disclosure and highlights common deficiencies and best practices.

"Among other issues, we continue to see deficiencies in issuers' use of non-GAAP financial measures, and this remains an area of focus for the CSA," said Louis Morisset, Chair of the CSA and Chair and CEO of the Autorité des marchés financiers. "We strongly encourage issuers to use this report as a guide to make improvements, as disclosure requirements are at the core of our investor protection regime."

Other areas where issuers can improve disclosures include, but are not limited to: fair value measurements and disclosures; forward looking information; discussions of issuers' results of operations and significant projects in development; climate change disclosures; and mineral project disclosure.

In fiscal 2018, 51 per cent (2017 - 43 per cent) of review outcomes required issuers to take action to improve and/or amend their disclosure, or resulted in the issuer being referred to enforcement, cease traded or placed on the default list.

The CSA's continuous disclosure review program assesses the compliance of issuers' continuous disclosure documents with securities law. The program also aims to help issuers improve the completeness, quality and timeliness of their disclosure. 

CSA Staff Notice 51-355 is available on CSA members' websites.

The CSA, the council of the securities regulators of Canada's provinces and territories, co- ordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets.

  - 30 -

For more information:

Kristen Rose
Ontario Securities Commission

Alison Trollope
Alberta Securities Commission

Andrew Poon
British Columbia Securities Commission

Sylvain Théberge
Autorité des marchés financiers

Jason (Jay) Booth
Manitoba Securities Commission

David Harrison
Nova Scotia Securities Commission

Craig Whalen
Office of the Superintendent of Securities,
Newfoundland and Labrador

Jeff Mason
Nunavut Securities Office

Shannon McMillan
Financial and Consumer Affairs
Authority of Saskatchewan

Sara Wilson
Financial and Consumer Services
Commission, New Brunswick

Steve Dowling
Government of Prince Edward Island,
Superintendent of Securities

Rhonda Horte
Office of the Yukon Superintendent of

Tom Hall
Office of the Superintendent of Securities
Northwest Territories
(867) 767-9305


Twitter Follow us on Twitter
LinkedIn Follow us on LinkedIn